Brandts’ Bean Night #2

Here’s a standby.  I got the recipe from a wonderful neighbor in seminary.  When she made it for her family, she always made enough to give a pot of it to another seminary family (we were all on tight budgets!). I always think of her when I make it, and that’s never less than once a month.

Amy’s Ham & Bean Soup

1 lb Great Northern beans, soaked overnight or  softened using the quick method (boil for 2 minutes, let sit, covered, for at least 2 hours)

6 c water

4 peppercorns

2 tsp salt

1 bay leaf

1 TB parsley

3 cloves garlic, minced

1-1 1/2 lbs ham, cubed (great for leftovers or ham bone)

Add ingredients and bring to a boil. Simmer for 1 1/2 hours.  Add:

2 c water

3 carrots, sliced

1 onion, chopped

4 potatoes, peeled & cubed

Bring to a boil. Simmer for at least one half hour. I like to cook it until the beans are exploding.

Serve with corn bread. This makes enough for my 6-egg omelet family to have plenty plus leftovers.

2 responses to “Brandts’ Bean Night #2

  1. I don’t think that’s what I sent…I stayed home sick or with sickies, but I don’t think I sent soup. Someone brings it regularly though, and it’s very good!

Leave a Reply

