RiverFest: Sundown Parade

The Wichita RiverFest is a big deal for us.  Only a few months after meeting Sean at K-State, he invited me to come along on one of his family’s traditions: attending the RiverFest final concert and fireworks show.  Whenever we can, we participate as much as we can. For the cost of a festival button ($5 this year), you can gain admittance to concerts, musical theater, local museums, special playgrounds and other events. We look forward to this week!

The RiverFest begins with the Sundown Parade through downtown…

Waiting…

This wagon is always near the front of the parade, carrying the honorary Admiral of the Windwagon (there’s more tot hat story, but for the life of me I can’t remember it at the moment).  We wondered how they were going to navigate the stoplights, but they’d planned ahead and engineered a retractable mast. 

These balloon people are always one of my favorite groups…they come up with amazing things each year.

The peanut gallery.

And then…EXCITEMENT!

Ellie thought this was way cool.

This one, too.  I think the excitement went to her head…

My favorite float:

And finally, my nomination for the worst advertising campaign ever:

3 responses to “RiverFest: Sundown Parade

  1. Church doesn’t WHAT?????????

    Great pictures. It reminded me of when my own children were young and we used to do things like that. So much fun!

  2. Awww… RIVERFEST!! Makes me wish there was a way we could come down for the concert and fireworks. We haven’t made it to that one in years! 😦

Leave a Reply

