Refrigerator Pickles!!!

I am so excited that it’s this time of year that I had to use all of those exclamation points. The cucumber plants in our garden are super-thick and have been covered with a bazillion flowers for several weeks. The other day we found enough cucumbers that were just big enough to be picked and turned into my favorite pickle.  This recipe is from Sean’s mother, and I remember asking her for it after enjoying ham sandwiches at their house while Sean and I were dating.  Thankfully, it’s a very, very easy recipe, not least because of microwave magic.

In a bowl, mix together 1/2 tsp salt, 1 c sugar, 1/2 c vinegar, and 1/4 tsp each of turmeric, mustard seed and celery seed.

In a large microwave safe bowl, mix sliced veggies: 1-2 onions and 2 cucumbers.

This is the part of the recipe that does make me a little crazy. 1-2 onions, fine, I can visualize that. But as you fellow-gardeners will know, cucumbers vary in size quite a bit. I’ve seen heynormous ones in the store. The ones from the garden may have been picked while still in the innocence of youth. They were dinky. I think I did about 6 “dinky” cucumbers and did some culinary mathematical transmogrifying and they magically became translated into “2 cucumbers.”

Pour your happy liquid mixture over the veggies and toss ’em around a little.

That’s what mine looked like.

Toss them in the microwave on high for 5 minutes.  They’ll look like this:

Some of the cukes will look more cooked than others. No worries. Stir ’em up again and cook 5 more minutes on high. I told you this was easy, didn’t I?

Pour the whole mess into a jar and put on the lid. Stick the jar in the fridge for a few hours, until thoroughly chilled. Do not cheat yourself out of that first pickle euphoria by tasting one before it’s had the chance to chill out.

Delicious on burgers, sammiches, BBQ, and all by themselves. I have no idea how long they would keep in the fridge. I have never known of a case of them lasting long enough to find out.

One response to “Refrigerator Pickles!!!

  1. This recipe has made it into several fundraising cookbooks, but now that it’s in cyberspace it will never be forgotten!! Love the fotos!

Leave a Reply

