Ham Cups

It sounds like a nickname for Ellie, but instead it’s only a boring name for another recipe idea we saw on Pinterest.

ham cups 4

I’ve seen them with bacon and with ham, and thought we’d try it with ham. I saw photos only, with no recipe, but thought we could figure something out. It turned out pretty well (well enough that the family would like to have them again), so I’m putting the recipe here so I can remember what I did.

I did 24 cups (2 muffin pans).

1 lb sliced deli ham (I used black forest, and it was sliced in rounds, which made it easier to fit them in the right place).

20 eggs, beaten

1/2 c heavy cream

4 oz extra sharp cheddar cheese, finely grated

1/2 tsp salt

1/4 tsp pepper

Spray muffin pans with nonstick cooking spray. Line each muffin spot with ham. I used 2 slices in each spot, overlapping each other so there wasn’t too much ham sticking way up. Divide the grated cheese among the cups. I’d guess I had about a very unpacked tablespoon of cheese in each cup, but your mileage may vary. In another bowl, beat the eggs with the cream, salt & pepper, then distribute the egg mixture between the cups. Bake in a 375* oven for about 25 min (which is, we found out, plenty of time to make pumpkin bread batter).

For those of you who enjoy process photos:

ham cups

ham cups 3

ham cups 2

ham cups 4

 

I may put some veggies in a few of them next time. For ME, Sean…don’t worry.

Leave a Reply

